Hygge Inspiration – The Year of Living Danishly | Lady Loves Online 

Good morning. I trust you all had a nice relaxing Hygge inspired weekend?! I hope. I wanted to tell you a little bit more about the book that inspired my Hygge journey, The Year of Living Danishly by Helen Russell. It is by no means a self help book, but more of a personal account of someone’s journey coming from busy fast paced London moving to the slow relaxed happy place of Denmark. The trials, troubles and struggles faced along the way and the happy ever after ending. 

When I read this book for the first time, it was quite a slow start. But as you are eased in, you begin to feel that you too, are on this trip, feeling and seeing all that the author does, it’s like you are on this personal developmental journey with her.

the year of living danishly,
It was an eye opening book for me, as I related so much to the author in some ways. While I am not even sure if I want children, (where she is actively trying to conceive) we did share the same inability to stop, the need to always be doing and the need to get to the bottom of things like, why are the Danes so bloody happy??! This helped me open up to the theory of Hygge, in an easy, simplistic way. The book was brilliant, so the fact I got to learn and take something from it was a bonus.

While I love a hardback book, I do read a lot on my Kindle app for convenience. I have been known to flit between 2 sometimes 3 books at the same time and the kindle makes this an easy process should a change tickle my fancy. 

There are multiple offerings on Hygge books available on the shelves now, I have yet to read any of the others available to this date, but I might peruse a few. If your taste is a little less self help and more geared towards good storytelling and informative journalism, then The Year of Living Danishly is a great one to get stuck into this October. Ease yourself in, and enjoy.

Words by Danielle Alexandria 

This is NOT a sponsored post.

One thought on “Hygge Inspiration – The Year of Living Danishly | Lady Loves Online 

Leave a Reply

