Christmas in July 2016 | Liberty 

Words Natalie Courtois 

Back in July I attended the Christmas press preview for Liberty. Now, as a fashion historian, Liberty has to be one of my favourite places in London to while away an afternoon. 

Steeped in history, the dark wood interior and its British heritage all get me going and I love the unique mix of emerging brands it stocks alongside the bigger names. The purple and gold carrier bag alone sends me into an excited frenzy! So Christmas at Liberty is about as magical as one can imagine. 

Having just come from the Selfridges press day, which was a loud modern disco frenzy (more of which later this month) there was something very comforting in taking a more traditional step back at Liberty.

The Nutcracker was a theme aplenty this year but being greeted by lifesized Toy soldiers showcasing the Christmas offerings on trays was a lovely touch. As was the moving display of tree decorations and I fell madly in love with the little Mouse Prince! 

Liberty had also laid on a personalised Bauble gift service for us members of the press, and as I always purchase at least one new decoration for our family tree each year from Liberty, Harrods and Selfridges  this will make a very lovely addition to our Christmas decorations, which have become a bit of an heirloom affair with decorations from my own childhood tree that will hopefully one day grace the pines of my four children’s trees. 

After picking my design from a choice of floral liberty print or gold I sipped Pink lemonade in glass bottles and wandered around the rest of the displays, stopping by to have a special Christmas note handwritten by Calligraphy artist from ‘Santa’ to my little ones. They will LOVE this and it is going to be a very magical touch indeed on Christmas morning. 

As for the shopping options there’s plenty making my list as well as my shopping list for family and friends such as these fabulous but fun bone China typography mugs by designer Gary Birks (£14.95)

I spotted some fabulous stocking filler ideas, such as the luxury tech cords by Le Cord (£28) or delicious chocolate truffles from Prestat in stocking shaped boxes. All Christmas stockings should included a pair of luxury socks and so the Falke for Liberty print socks (£28) will be a winner whomever you decide to gift them to! 

Of course the Liberty Advent Calendar £(165)  is once again a steady contender as winner for the beauty Advent calender market and it’s already available to buy so get in quick before it sells out as it does each year, and for very good reason , as it’s packed full of the very best in luxury Skincare, haircare and beauty products all in perfect miniature size. 

In terms of party time fashion there’s lots to excite also and my eye was enivatably drawn to this feather and crystal gown (who’s plumes were blowing in the wind from the fans trying to keep us all cool in the 90degree heat) as feathers and Christmas to me are like birds to a feather, excuse the pun! 


In terms of my own Christmas wish list I will be adding one of the stunning new Liberty print Monogram clutches to my list for Santa, aka my fiancé. My favourite style icon Pandora Sykes has hers and if Santa gets it right I will be proudly rocking my ‘N’ come news years eve and beyond. 

Well, a Liberty clutch is not just for Christmas you know…….. 

Leave a Reply

