An Interview with Rosie Willett Wedding Headpiece Designer – Exclusive Lady Loves Reader Discount | Lady Loves Weddings

The lovely Rosie Willett got in contact with me to talk about her fabulous range of wedding hairpieces. Something I had never even thought of before I got engaged. And now, well now it’s all wedding wedding wedding. I wanted to find out a little bit more behind the brand, and what goes into making these beautiful Headpieces.  What’s more she is giving Lady Loves readers an exclusive 20% off until 30th April 2017, just use LADYLOVES20 at checkout! 
Q&A with Rosie Willett Designs


1. Tell us about Rosie Willett Designs — how did you get into designing wedding headpieces?

I began designing wedding headpieces whilst studying Fashion Marketing at Northumbria University. I met with a lady from a local bridal boutique who loved the designs, so she started taking orders from her brides for me. After gaining my degree, I decided to launch Rosie Willett Designs as a full time business as I loved it too much to give it up.
2. Is it difficult to keep your ideas fresh? What inspires your creations?

I come up with new ideas all of the time, so I actually find it more difficult to stop myself from designing! I sometimes just have to do a quick sketch and file it away until it’s time to release a new collection. I am largely inspired by nature and I’m a bit of a flower fanatic – I look at the way leaves form along a stem and the delicacy of petals. I am also inspired by current wedding dress trends and I’m particularly interested in fabrics such as delicate lace and embroideries. The patterns in these fabrics can often inspire patterns and shapes in my bead work.    

3. Do you have a favourite headpiece?

I’m a little biased, as my favourite headpiece is the Rosie wedding hair vine, which I designed for my own wedding. The hair vine is secured at the back with a comb, with the ends crossing over at the side of the head. It’s an unusual design made in rose gold with silk, lace and mother of pearl flowers in shades of ivory, blush and coffee. Swarovski crystal adds delicate sparkle, along with freshwater pearl for a natural and bohemian look.

Rosie Willett discount code wedding headbands lady Loves weddings  

4. How long does it take to make each of the headpieces?

It varies quite widely from piece to piece….the most elaborate headpiece in the collection takes approximately 10 hours to make as it contains 25 individually hand stitched petals.

 

5. There are so many styles to choose from. What advice would you give to brides who are looking for their perfect hair accessory?

I would advise brides to consider the overall look they want to achieve on the day. Hair vines and forehead bands are ideal for romantic and bohemian styles, whereas side tiaras create a more glamorous look and a traditional tiara looks very classic. ​

 

6. Have you noticed any wedding headpiece trends for 2017? What are the popular styles?

Hair vines remain popular for 2017 and brides are wearing them in contemporary ways, such as around the back of the head or twisted into a plait. Rose gold is also a huge trend this year.

 

7. What is the best part of your job?

I enjoy working on bespoke headpieces as it’s a very creative process and I love to see the end results of a new design. Of course, I also love to hear how happy my brides are with their headpieces and see photographs from their wedding days.

  

8. Any insider tips to minimise headpiece-related stress on the big day?

Always book a hair trial ahead of your wedding day and allow enough time for changes to be made to your style if it doesn’t look quite how you imagined. I would also advise taking your headpiece to at least one dress fitting to ensure it complements the dress. Ask a bridesmaid to carry a travel size hairspray, comb and some kirby grips in their bag for hair touch ups throughout the day.

  

9. If you could sum up your creations in three words, what would they be?

Exquisite, handmade, stylish.

 

10. Give us your trend predictions for 2018.

Pearls will be prevalent at Rosie Willett Designs in 2018, used in our delicate signature style to create bohemian combs and vines in new lengths and widths. We are also working with new crystal shapes and structures to create pieces with a luxurious regal feel, giving a glamorous twist to classic style.

Don’t forget to use LADYLOVES20 at checkout before the end of April to get 20% off Rosie Willett’s exquisite Wedding Headpieces. 

One thought on “An Interview with Rosie Willett Wedding Headpiece Designer – Exclusive Lady Loves Reader Discount | Lady Loves Weddings

Leave a Reply

